For information and Land Use Permits contact:

Traverse County Planning & Zoning
Ben Oleson, Hometown Planning
Phone:  320-759-1560
Website:  Hometown Planning 

Click here for the Traverse County Zoning Map

Click here for Permit Applications and FORMS

Click here for signed Traverse County Comprehensive Plan

The County Board appoints a Planning Commission/Board of Adjustment to review Conditional Use and Variance permit applications.

The Planning Commission/Board of Adjustment members are:

Jerome Deal, Chairman, Wheaton, Minnesota, term expires April 2022
Steven Schmidt, Dumont, Minnesota, term expires April 2022
James Kruger, Secretary, Browns Valley, Minnesota, term expires April 2023
Dennis Zimbrick, Beardsley, Minnesota, term expires April 2023
Doug Frisch, Dumont, Minnesota, term expires April 2022

2020 PC-BOA Meeting Schedule

Traverse Soil and Water Conservation District
304 4th Street North
Wheaton, MN 56296
320-563-8218 ext. 3

Traverse County contracts with the Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) office to provide administration and services for the following programs:

Minnesota Wetland Conservation Act (WCA)
Delegated Feedlot Program
Comprehensive Local Water Planning (CLWP)
Subsurface Septic Treatment System Program (SSTS)


Sara Gronfeld – WCA Administrator, SSTS Administrator


Bruce Johnson – County Feedlot Officer


Trudy Determan – Administrative Assistant for All Programs


Brock Pearson – District Program Technician 


Minnesota Delegated County Feedlot Program

2021 Annual Feedlot Report

2021 County Feedlot Financial Report

The Minnesota Legislature provides funds to counties to implement state feedlot regulations and that the amount is primarily based on the number of feedlots in the county.   These reports show the amount and kind of work that was done as well as the cost to perform the work.  Please contact the Traverse County Feedlot Officer (CFO), Bruce Johnson, if there is interest in additional details.

Traverse County Buffer Monitoring Plan

Monitoring Plan for Buffer Compliance Tracking